What's new

RTA’s

Les53

Postman
I’m fairly new to vaping and use a couple of Nautilus 3 tanks, I use 1.8ohm coils.

Could someone please explain to me the advantages of RTA tanks over what I’m using now?

The coil building and wicking looks quite intriguing and I quite fancy trying it.

I’m not a so called cloud chaser, I’m just a bloke who uses vapes in place of fags.

So how would I benefit from going down the RTA route? Or wouldn’t I?

RTA’s will save you money. Instead of £2-£3/coil you’ll pay pennies for a coil/cotton build.

It is something you will likely have to be patient with, getting the wicking right is the secret and can be frustrating. But it can also be rewarding as you tailor the build to your vaping style.

RTA’s will cost you loads more because you’ll keep wanting to buy a new one to play with (known as shinyitus). You’ll be continually tempted by the next best RTA and you’ll be forever waiting for the postie to bring you your next dream vape.

That’s both sides. Good luck and enjoy :thumbup:

Well I’m quite well versed when it comes to shinyitis! I’ve been into guns, watches and cars for most of my life.😂

These days funds don’t allow lots of new cars , guns or watches. So vaping still looks relatively cheap, but I have seen some very expensive mods and tanks, eye watering money in fact.

As a newbie to RTA’s , what would be a decent tank to start with? Bearing in mind my mods only take up to 24mm.

Is it best to buy pre made coils or buy the wire and do it myself?

When it comes to DIY coils, is there any particular spec to bear in mind when it comes to coil diameter or amount of turns ?

@hack400 summed it up pretty well IMO :thumbup:

I understand people who can't be arsed. I spend a lot of time re-coiling and wicking tanks. Too much time. I am a bit pedantic in that I like a fresh wick for every tank full, partly because the juices that I use are pretty hard on the coils.

That said, I would never go back to stock coils.