What's new

Bought RTAs- Zeus X, Wake, Juggerknot, Doggystyle, Dvarw mtl V2 which one is easiest as a newbie?

Hi everyone,

So I bought the RTAs/clones from Fasttech Zeus X, Wake, Juggerknot mini, Doggystyle 2016, Dvaarwmtl2, I also got a Advken Manta from a different website.

As someone who has never mounted a coil onto an RTA or used one so complete novice I'd like the opinion of people here as to which one you think would be the easiest to learn and coil/wick? None of them came with any instructions (some but not all are clones I assume since the were titled "styled") and I'm not even sure how to open/unscrew some of them lol

I'm looking to start with a single post/coil RTA firstly. I did also buy a box of premade coils (but intend to use Coilmaster to make my own)

Any tutorials you might be aware of very welcome too!

Edit the Doggystyle is SXK

YouTube the RTAs & watch how reviewers do it. They'll do a breakdown showing how they come apart/fit together. Coil size, type & position. From there you'll soon gain enough confidence to do any RTA.

I managed to disassemble the Doggystyle SXK first, watching a video so think I'll try coiling on that first, then decide, depending on what others say for the second one!

Good shout on the doggy, nice & straight forward to start

I'd leave the Dvarw for a bit, it's an old school wire-around-a-a-screw wrapper & could potentially do your head in

The JK mini should be straight forward & it's pretty much leak proof, just do your homework on it first

Okay I managed to mount a premade clapton 0.8 ohm coil onto the Doggystyle. I wicked it, but not sure if I wicked it correctly as it gurgles much of the time. It reads as 1 ohm (I did an extra twist of the coil). is the wicking most likely cause of the gurgling?