What's new

How handy are you with your hands?

xibxang

Postman
No, it's not a perverted question! :)

I'm an engineer by trade and so far I've done some bits and bobs to my cloned mods and atties to make them work a little better. I've worked with different metals for years now and while I'm not a miracle worker, I've done some pretty good work on my vaping collection.

How comfortable are you guys and girls with doing work on your gear? I ask because a couple of my friends have now approached me and asked me to sort out little snags and add extra holes to their bits and pieces. I'm mulling over the idea of providing this as a service to a small number of people, mainly so that I can start to get a better understanding of mods and drippers work (with a view to eventually making my own). My "cost" for this service would be to provide a pre-paid return envelope with any work that needed to be done and for a couple of quid to be donated to CHAS (Children's Hospice Association Scotland). This is all very much pie-in-the-sky thinking for now, but it's been on my mind, which is why I write this post.

Again, I'm not a miracle worker and I'm not an advanced modder (hence why I'm posting this here) but I'm pretty good at sorting out crunchy buttons and all of the niggly things that would annoy any vaper. I can't magically repair broken atomiser posts, but 510 threads are easy to clean up. I don't have an expansive collection of taps and dies to clean up tube mod thread sizes. That said, a copper brush usually fixes most of those types of maladies. I don't have advanced polishing gear either so I can't take your brushed and pitted stainless gear and give them a mirror finish.

So this is what I'm asking. Would the good people of this sub-forum find a use for such a service? As you can see, I'm not looking for profit but raising some pennies for a noble charity is something I would be interested in. I'd be interested in some opinions.