What's new

Vaping Policy at Work

Fleabag

Achiever
I work as a manager in a community mental health service, providing one-to-one and group support. Not only have a number of staff, including myself, started using e-cigs, but their use has significantly increased amongst service users over recent months and we now have sizeable groups of Vapers in social sessions and groups.

After a rather frustrating meeting with my staff, in which they flagged up the lack of policy on e-cigs within the organisation and questioned the safety of “passive vaping”, one of the senior management team rushed together an email quoting the smoking policy and inserting “including the use of e-cigarettes” whenever “smoking” appeared (“smoking, including the use of e-cigarettes, is not permitted in any [organisation] building or on any [organisation] property” etc).

They have not only excluded it from inside the buildings, but also ban staff from using them in car parks or in their cars while travelling on organisation business.

Immediately, I raised this with my staff rep to bring up in staff council, citing the benefits not only to staff and organisation, but even more importantly, the service users (who are traditionally a group who smoke significantly more than the general population – up to 70% of people with schizophrenia self-medicate with tobacco). Any action on the organisation’s part that supports and encourages smoking reduction and cessation is a positive one, and driving service users and staff outside to vape simply increases the use of tobacco (if I go outside, I smoke). Many service users have adopted the e-cigs to avoid standing outside, so being forced out there will result in them smoking.