What's new

Newbie coil builder - what to start with??

FurryWhiskers

Postman
I am new to coil building - and sub-ohm vaping - but I've been at it for a couple of months now and I am finding myself drawn to the DIY (tinkerer) side of things. I have no intentions of entering cloud chasing competitions, but I do enjoy trying to create the biggest clouds I can - but mainly I love loads of flavour.

I have just bought a selection of wire and spent hours watching youtube vids but I want to know, for a noob, what type of coil setup would you recommend I start with? Obviously something not too difficult, but also something a little challenging would be great. As I say, I want flavour first - then clouds - both would be wicked :)

In terms of my hardware, I have a RX200 and my only dripper is a Royal Hunter. I also have an Uwell Crown with RBA section, but I assume that wouldn't even come into the equation when it comes to coil building.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me :)

What kind of wire to you have? I'd say start off simple and progress from there. You can start off with something like a 5-wrap 26AWG dual coil, then maybe try twisting some wire and making a dual twisted build. YOur equipment will handle pretty much any kind of build with easy so play around. Once you get a good hand of doing a dual 26AWG coil you'll be ready to move onto claptons and things like that.

I started with a few single wire coils and then used pre-made clapton wire and made coils from those. The flavor from claptons tastes better to me than single wire coils. Last week I made my first fused clapton using 26/36 kanthal wire from Temco and they are a huge improvement in flavor, such a smooth taste. That is my go to build for now.

@collateral diarrhea I've got a few reels of wire, as follows (but I can always order more if needed):

• Kanthal A1 ... 24 AWG
  • Kanthal A1 ... 28/29 AWG
  • Kanthal A1 ... 34/35 AWG
  • Kanthal A1 Ribbon ... 20 AWG