What's new

Some history, newbie questions about watts and volts...and maybe some more...

tampano

Hi everyone,
first of all thanks to all you kind people who will read this post without screaming "oh no, again?".

I'm new to vaping, quit smoking all of a sudden almost two months ago and quite curious about this nice substitute.

My first device, the one I'll be always grateful to, has been an Aspire K2. I love it, I still use it, it's totally straightforward. No doubts there.

Then a friend gave me as a gift a small iLeaf 40w mod with a Cubis tank. With that I started to try some sub-Ohm fun, still loving the comfort of all-in-one coils just to be replaced once in a while. I love the size of the iLeaf, I hate the Cubis when it spits back...but all considered, it's a nice and easy setup.

Still wanting to stay away (for how long? don't really know) from the rebuildable world, which I bet is super fun, I bought a bigger mod and a way bigger tank: a Kangertech Kbox which goes up to 200w and a Uwell Crown tank.

I used the Crown straight away with its default 0.25 coil, at around 50w and I liked it. Today I wanted to mount the 0.50 coil and give it a try....so the question came to my mind: how do I decide a wattage for a coil? Is it just something related to the temperature and comfort/discomfort I'll feel when vaping? I tried some research around but I got results with people using said coil at 40w while others using it at 90w. Confusing uh?

Plus a last minute doubt: a colleague told me "never vape at more than 4v (yes, 4 volts) or it will be carcinogenic as well".

I thanking you all in advance and I hope this post will keep me busy from buying an RDA online :-)

Tampano

Hi and welcome to the Planet.
i started with a istick30 and then a few weeks later a 40w and still use it every day at work almost 2 years later.