What's new

Help! Making my first coil

Aer

Initiate
I've owned my GV Zeus X (EDIT- Zeus X) and Aegis for quite a while but up until now I've always bought premade coils. I have a coil master v4 and now 100ft of kanthal a1 28g wire. The only way I have to read the resistance of my coil is the Aegis mod itself. I normally use 0.5 or lower sub ohm pre made coils but no idea what resistance is best for me as I havent tried much else. I just want to check with someone that knows more if this sounds reasonable before going ahead.

Main questions I have are:

Is it safe to use my Aegis to check the resistance of homemade coils?

The recommended wattage on the steam-engine calculator seems low, does this sound okay for a first try, AFAIK higher resistance is a bit safer?

kanthal a1
awg 28
single coil
target resistance - 1.00 ohm
inner diameter (not sure what was best here) - 2mm
leg length - 6mm (this is a guess and might change once I open the tank and measure my current coil)
wraps - 6
heat capacity - 14.77 mJ/K
wattage - 11w (seems low)

Thanks in advance for any help

Last edited:
Is it safe to use my Aegis to check the resistance of homemade coils?

Yeah man, it's fine

The recommended wattage on the steam-engine calculator seems low, does this sound okay for a first try, AFAIK higher resistance is a bit safer?

I'm really not sure what you're trying to do. 28g is very thin wire, more suitable for MTL vaping which the Zeus certainly isn't designed for. 1 ohm again, is MTL territory

24g gauge wire would be a better wire to use in the 0.3 to 0.50 ohm range . 5 wraps of 24g around the 3.5mm piece would get you around 0.50 ohm range & be more suitable. The Zeus really wants thicker Ni80 fused claptons to get the best from it

This is the original single coil Zeus you have & not the Zeus X or anything?