What's new

Covid-19 - natural / man made debate - does it matter?

Mitz

Administrator
Staff member
OK, so there seems to be some debate whether Covid-19 is man made in a lab or natural.

The vast majority of scientists say it's natural. A few very high profile scientists say it's man made.

Am I missing something?

Does it really matter?

I'm no scientist but just for arguments sake, let's say it's natural (which I believe it is). That doesn't mean the virus wasn't extracted from an animal in a lab and then released intentionally or accidentally. Does it? All it means is the virus wasn't created. How would anybody be able to tell if a nutural virus was extracted without being messed with and then released?

Just curious. What do you smarter than me people think?

The conspiracist in me says man made.
The Humanist in me would like to think it was natural.
Could it be linked to Global Warming with all this melting ice
god knows what lies below it. ?

Also not smarter than you.

At this point in time it doesn't really matter imo. Just seems like a debate for the sake of having a debate.

As far as I understand it then we will never know for sure but by looking at the structure of the virus and the way it has evolved and affected us points to the fact that it is natural. That doesn't mean it hasn't been found in nature and released as there would be absolutely no way to tell from its genetic make up. We know viruses in the covid family have come from nature in the past such as SARS and MERS so we have no reason to believe that this isn't the same.
Just because scientists are high profile doesn't mean they are right, Einstein struggled with quantum mechanics and revised relativity more than once.
The problem I have with this is why would someone release it? To what end? Why would you go to all the trouble and expense to create a virus like this?