What's new

Vape Tax.. we all knew it was coming

Every time goods change hands there are always some kind of tax rules that apply, even if it is just so say that a transaction should be free of tax. I'm not a lawyer so I might be wrong but I'm pretty sure that if change of use rules apply because of the type of business that is buying a product those goods would be treated as a "new Supply" and taxed again and the appropriate duty and tax would become due.

Every time goods change hands there are always some kind of tax rules that apply, even if it is just so say that a transaction should be free of tax. I'm not a lawyer so I might be wrong but I'm pretty sure that if change of use rules apply because of the type of business that is buying a product those goods would be treated as a "new Supply" and taxed again and the appropriate duty and tax would become due.

as an example, let’s say they declare that vg to be used to puff in a vape is subject to some kind of additional tax duty. i go and buy some vg from boots, but the rules say i should contact hmrc and pay the extra duty.

is that what you mean? i doubt any consumers would do that. nobody is going to come and search your cupboards to see if you are putting boots vg in a vape.

as an example, let’s say they declare that vg to be used to puff in a vape is subject to some kind of additional tax duty. i go and buy some vg from boots, but the rules say i should contact hmrc and pay the extra duty.

is that what you mean? i doubt any consumers would do that. nobody is going to come and search your cupboards to see if you are putting boots vg in a vape.

No, this is to do with transactions between different businesses within the supply chain. I'm not a tax lawyer but I've had enough dealings with HMRC in the past to have a bit of an insight into how their rules work.

Use by date is a legal requirement. I’ve been told, on good authority, it’s nothing more than that.