What's new

For a complete beginner... from an almost complete beginner...

Trajal

Initiate
Well I've been vaping for a few months now, still very much a noob but while everything was still fresh in my mind I wanted to put together a quick info piece for those who might be considering looking at making their first few purchases. If this isn't the right place for it, any Mod, please move to where it should be! :-D

What is 510 and why does everyone talk about it?
510 is just the name given to the universal connections that just about every vape item uses. If something wants to flourish in the vaping community it pretty much needs a 510 connector so that you can connect clearos and tanks up to a battery.

So how do vapes work?
Consisting of two parts, there is the top bit (usually called a clearomizer) which is refillable with liquid juice. It has some wicks which draw the liquid up into the heating element. Then there is the bottom bit which is just a battery with a button on it.

You just put some juice into the top bit, making sure not to drip any at all down the middle tube, put the mouthpiece back on and connect it to the battery. Then you click the battery 5 times quickly to turn it on, leave it for a few minutes for the juice to get sucked up into the wicks in the clearo, and then you're ready to go. Vaping is self explanatory really, just hold the button on the battery down for a few seconds and you're away. How you vape it in is a matter of trial and error, personally i let it fill my mouth slowly for a few seconds and then suck back to get a throat/lung hit before exhaling but many do it differently, try it out a few times and work out what feels best for you.

Go cheap at first.
Get a feel for vaping by getting a cheap starter kit. Many of the vendors listed on this site will give discount codes to the side, use these to get a starter kit.

A starter kit will normally comprise of the very basics for what you need, I suggest as a minimum the following: