What's new

Unwrapping Efests, Confused

dragzi

Hello all, First post :) Sorry for wall of text. tldr at the bottom, below pics.

So ive been vaping for about 2 years now, started on your standard ego w basic carto, moved up to a vamo v2 w kanger aerotank using efest red batteries. Shortly after that moved up to using your standard 18650 clones with a variaty of rta clones. Then moved up to rda's, then up to parallel box clones for <0.2ohm. Now I have now moved up to using a snow wolf 200w after trying one in a local vape shop. Claptons have never been better!

In my entire time vaping, I have always used efest batteries, with the exception of the snow wolf. I purchased them at the recommendation of a friend and just assumed that because they work, and because they are on sale in the UK, that there would be some kind of safety regulation. I am currently rotating between 2 paired sets of vtc5s that I am 99% sure are authentic (correct markings, good quality, has the signiture double bump at the rim of the battery).

At my local vape store, I was informed that the light purple efest 2500mah are actually vtc4's re-wrapped. This got me thinking as I had a load of them die on me and refuse to charge, despite never taking them below about 3.5v. I had a look and they were obdviously not vtc4s. For one thing they had 4 posts on the positive instead of 3.

I ended up throwing out all my 2500mah light purple efest batteries a few days ago. I had 5 left of varying variatys.

Saw a post online about efest batteries being fakely labeled, and decided that they must be fake efest batteries being tested instead of the real efest products.. Had 5 sitting on my desk, so decided to unwrap them and look for serial no's n such. Photos of unwrapping show a few issues.

For one thing, no serial numbers of any sort over the batteries. Secondly 2 batteries have weird spots that look like they have been shorting.

IMG_20160110_192412.jpg