What's new

Building my own pipe, where to begin?

yobgw1bsr

Hello everyone!

First of all, I am a total beginner in all things vaping; I offer you my apologies in advance because I'm certain some of my questions have already been asked a million time before. Sorry if that's the case! Also, as I do not know the vocabulary related to vaping, please bear with me and please correct my mistakes, I'm still learning.

I am looking at some guidance for a project I have been dreaming about for a long time: I want to stop smoking my traditional pipe and build a vaping pipe instead to prevent health issues, and since I'm a LARP enthusiast, I also figured I could build the pipe my D&D and LARP characters use to smoke (they're wizard, of course!) use to smoke; a huge Gandalf like pipe.

I expect this to be hard, but I think I have my chances: I have experience with CAD and drawing 3D models as well as printing them, and I'm an electronics engineer. The big "however" is that I have no knowledge on vaping itself or where I should start. To give an example, I have no idea whether some kits exist to start from an existing basis or if I have to do everything from scratch.

Ideally (albeit naively), I thought the plan would more or less involve buying an existing vape, cutting the plastic/metallic case, get the electronics, unsolder/modify the parts and mount it back inside a case I would design myself. Is this completely stupid or do people actually do this?

Finally, to be clear, I'm not looking on the specifics, but really on how the workflow would look like.

Sorry for the long post and a big thank you to anyone who can help me!

I've never wanted to vape on pipe style, but there is a vendor on here who makes some exquisite pipe vapes. Search for posts by @vapesmarter and be impressed. You might purchase one, then design your own thinking of what you'd change to make it even better.

And welcome.

Another vote for @vapesmarter - that would be my first choice.