What's new

Zenith coils burning out instantly!

charlieath

Hi all,

I'm not a newbie to vaping per se, but I haven't played around with it. I was using a Coolfire Mini, 30/70 juice and vaping a lot at 35watts with no issues. Coils lasted a long time. I now realise I was doing it wrong...

Got the Innokin Zenith and was using the battery with my Coolfire tank to use up slipstream coils. Now switched to Zenith tank. Filled her up - coil instantly burnt up and I choked. I cautiously got the .8 coil out of the box... same thing happened.

Now I realise - wattage was too high. These coils are also packed tighter so got to prime better.

I finally got new coils today and very cautiously primed one. I even poked at it with a needle like someone suggested. Turned the wattage way down, to 9w, then I turned up to 11w and it tastes burnt. Again.

Please help before I burn through the rest of my pack and have to wait another week for something else to try!

Additional note - I have 3x 100ml of 30/70 so I hope its not the juice. They are spartan juice, fruity. I don't like menthol etc.

Thanks for the long read!

@charlieath I've had a quick look online and the juices are 70 vg and 30 Pg, this is isn't suitable for vaping at low watts.

Due to how thick the juice is, your coil will not be soaking the juice up in a hurry, leaving the cotton dry and leading to burnt / dry hits (the burnt / fire taste you are getting).

How are you priming your coil?

How many times are you priming it before vaping?

How long are you leaving it before vaping?

The Innokin Slipstream tank is a sub ohm tank and should be able to take 70 vg
Edit. Sorry I didnt take into account you switching to the Zenith.

@charlieath I've had a quick look online and the juices are 70 vg and 30 Pg, this is isn't suitable for vaping at low watts.