What's new

Tips for people new to diy mixing....

doobiesnax

Postman
I’m very very new to mixing, still not made a perfect batch but I’m not giving up (though the missus really wishes I would)

Have any of you got any great tips?

A few things I’ve discovered along the way:

It’s REALLY annoying having to keep taking the spouts off the concentrates (I use a 1ml syringe)
— I enlarged the hole of a syringe by heating a Small nail over the gas ring and then shoving it down the syringe spout:- Now I can just place the syringe over the spout of the concentrates spout, tip the bottle upside down, and draw directly from the bottle without taking the spout off.

I mix my nic and pg/vg in a large bottle, so when I want to try a new mix, I just decant the correct amount of vg/pg/nicotine into a bottle and just add the concentrated flavour.

Needle nosed 10ml bottles are great for testing - if it’s not strong enough/you want to add something extra, you can use the fine tip to suck the juice back out of your tank.

Mix by weight. Saves all that faffing around. :D
I take it you are allowing for dilution of your nic/pg/vg base mix when you add your flavours;).

Flavour Art strawberry Red Touch 9%
Kandi-Heid Strawberry 4%
Capella Sweet Strawberry 4%
Inawera Strawberry 3%

Need to buy some malic acid from a home brew shop and dilute 25g in 100ml of pg by gently warming and shaking till disolved.
Add 1% to the mix.

(Malic acid it derived from fruits and gives off the flavour tang from crisp apples)

Just a simple but true tasting strawberry and ready after a good mix and a few days rest time.

I'll be watching this thread with interest, I've just started mixing too. Have to say, that does sound like a lot of work! I've started using the weight method straight off, seems far easier and pretty sure it would be more accurate and easier to replicate recipes in the future. Only tip I have is wait for the scales to catch up, my battered old set take a few seconds to update.